The 12 acres of
gardens at Easton, just off the
A1 between Stamford and Grantham,
date back to 1592
when Sir Henry Cholmeley bought the Manor. The family still live in
the village. The Manor, standing on a site overlooking the River
Witham, remained unchanged until 1805 when Sir Montague Cholmeley
altered and enlarged it. His successor then replaced much of of it
with a Victorian building. Lawns to the South were full of statues,
fountains and bedding schemes. Ha-ha's gave uninterrupted views of
the parkland with fine trees and impressive views. You reached the
parterre from the great terraces which dropped down to the river.
Fine yew hedges through the gardens ended in an ornamental gate
which led to a double row of ancient lime trees.
Easton Hall was requisitioned at the start of World War II and
suffered considerable damage. It was never used as a family house
again and in 1952 was abandoned and pulled down.
Although overgrown with an impenetrable mass of sycamores, brambles
and nettles, which had been untouched for 50 years, the lawns and
terraces had held their shape and were waiting to be re-discovered.
Work started in 2002.The aim of the restoration at Easton is to
re-discover the original garden layout, and especially the original
terraces, but combine it with modern techniques and planting. In
this the owner, Ursula Cholmeley (who we chatted to on our visit,
thinking she was a gardener) and her head gardener are being aided
by commercial suppliers of roses, irises and by nurseries, all of
whom are helping to enable new collections of plants to be
The cut flower garden was set up in 2004 and is supplemented by a
Turf maze, Auricula Theatre, Velvet Border, Cottage Garden, Woodland
Walk and meadow plantings. This is a rare chance to see a 'hidden
garden' emerge and be recreated and modernised in new and exciting
Click on the
picture to see the rest of our photos.